David

And yet, the Flash of Trauma

The song, it reminds me of him – over a decade ago, though it’s a new original. The song, it’s excellent – I almost can’t get enough. The lyric, the beat, the melody, and yet… the flash of trauma.

It’s the phrasing I suppose. It’s not verbatim, but a bridge that recalls a phrase. A phrase he used to say all the time, whenever he’d introduce himself to someone new. The one word title also links directly to this quip.

It angers me that he still pops into my mind. The frustration I feel when something comes across my path, causing a reminder to so suddenly and rudely barge into my head.

I’ve struggled with the thought of writing about this particular, new, flashback causing media. Because he is one of the very few I have left with name changed in my writing. If I utter the phrase, it would be much easier for others to figure out his real first name. At this point I don’t know if I care so much anymore.

Those that knew him during the time were never fooled by the pseudonym anyway.

In my book, at the very least, I mention how he used to say the phrase – but I tied it to the fictional name, changing the phrase to fit. He’d say “*David, as in Goliath came tumbling down.” Well, that’s what I said he said, changing one Sunday school song lyric for another very similar one.

So when I hear the new lyrics, of a song no where near a Sunday school song, that go “Break down walls like Jericho crumble/The walls come down like Jericho…”

Instead of some allegorical vision of a biblical story, I see his face in my minds eye. I see him smiling, extending his hand, and introducing himself as “Joshua, as in the walls came a-tumbling down.”

*To avoid any confusion and/or lessen the risk that he ever finds out it’s me and I’m writing about him… I will continue to write about him as “David” on this blog.

1 thought on “And yet, the Flash of Trauma”

Leave a comment